On September 21, 2017  at the Museum and Exhibition Complex of the Russian Academy of Arts there was a General Assembly of the Academicians, Corresponding and Honorary Members of the Russian Academy of Arts dedicated to the 260th anniversary of the Academy.

The General Assembly started with honoring the memory of the Academicians who had passed away in recent years. The Russian Academy of Arts received congratulations from the Chairman of the Russian Government Dmitry Medvedev, Chairman of the Central Committee of the CPRF Gennady Zyuganov, Head of the Moscow City Duma Alexey Shaposhnikov, Governor of the Omsk Region Victor Nazarov, heads of Republics, regions, cities of the Russian Federation, ministries, educational institutions, creative unions.

The Chairman of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation Valentina Matvienko in her welcoming speech has emphasized the increased importance of culture and noted, that in the present situation the cultural component should become a promoter of the state interests. “For many years, the Russian Academy of Arts has been consistently making a significant contribution to the development of international cooperation expressed in the strengthening of cultural relations of the Russian Federation with other countries, as well as the promotion of Russian art and culture and mutual understanding among peoples”.

The Deputy Minister of Culture of the Russian Federation Oleg Ryzhkov  congratulated the Russian Academy of Arts on its 260th anniversary and presented awards of the Ministry of Culture to its members.

The General Assembly was welcomed by Ms. Jyoti Hosagrahar - UNESCO Director of the Division for Creativity; Mr. C.S. Krishna Setty – Administrator and Director of Lalit Kala Academy (India); Mr. Yalchyn Karayaguiz – Rector of Mimar Sinan University of Fine Arts, Honorary Member of the Russian Academy of Arts (Turkey); Alexey Leonov – Russian spaceman, Twice Hero of the Soviet Union.

In his address to the General Assembly the President of the Russian Academy of Arts Zurab Tsereteli stressed the importance of the preservation of Russian academic school as a fundamental base for the development of Russian fine arts. The Chief Scientific Secretary of the Presidium of the Russian Academy of Arts Oleg Koshkin gave a report on the activities of the Russian Academy in the period of 2007-2017. The panelists in the debates included: Vice-President of the RAA Evgeny Maximov; Member of the Presidium of the RAA. Academician Victor Vanslov; Vice-President of the RAA Vasily Tsereteli; Vice-President of the RAA Vladimir Lenyashin; Vice-President of the RAA Anatoly Lyubavin; Rector of St. Petersburg State Academy Institute of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture, Member of the Presidium of the RAA Semen Mikhailovsky; Vice-President of the RAA Andrey Zolotov; Head of the Urals, Siberia and Far East Regional Department of the RAA Sergey Anufriev.

At the award ceremony were presented: the RAA “Order for Services to Art” 2nd Rank; Honorary Mentions of the RAA; Memorial Medal of A.A. Mylnikov and Memorial Medal of D.D. Zhilinsky.

print version